Starting a Band

I started a band. I managed to meet someone on Craigslist who I didn’t regret jamming with. I met with another guitarist who is in to the same music as me and sees eye to eye on many of the same goals. He also wants to play Prog Rock/Metal. He has been playing for twelve years and I thought that we would be a little more unmatched in the skill department. I am glad that I was wrong. He can play faster and has a much better ear than me. However, he doesn’t seem to mind in the least. In fact he is supportive and encouraging. Also great is his optimism about writing songs and playing in the future. We have really good chemistry which is probably the most important factor in finding a writing partner. At this point we are learning a lot of Opeth and Porcupine Tree songs, but we will manage to expand our repertoire before long. He is really into Korn and Disturbed both of which I would be more than stoked to cover. I hope that we can jam with some other members before too long.

We are both interested in making Progressive Music that draws from a wide range of influences and captures a vast array of themes, emotions, and experiences. We haven’t entirely looked at getting new members quite yet, but it is only a matter of time before we get this train rolling. My friend is in the right headspace. He doesn’t have some lofty ambition of “making it” or signing a record deal before we have even played a show. We are also entering the third week of our endeavor. We are sounding better and better with each practice.

I am really excited to see where this will go and I believe that this could be something truly special.

Leave a Reply

